The American Academy of Health Behavior

3 Minute Thesis Competition

The American Academy of Health Behavior invites graduate students and newly graduated post-doctoral professionals within 2-years of their post doctoral degree and not yet in a tenure-track position to participate in the annual 3-minute Thesis Competition at the 2020 AAHB Annual Meeting in Napa, California. The 3-minute Thesis is an academic competition that challenges presenters to deliver compelling oration on their research agenda, highlighting the significance and impact of their research in no more than 180 seconds using a single slide.

The competition will be held on Sunday, March 8, 2020.

There will be a Judges’ Winner and Runner-up and a People’s Choice Winner!

Competition Rules:

  • Your regular submission or late-breaker abstract must be accepted for poster presentation at the AAHB Annual Meeting in Napa, California.
  • The research must be the student's or postdoc's original research (i.e., student thesis or dissertation project), or may originate from a student-led research question that stems from a faculty or mentor research project. Research that is the outcome of a faculty or mentor project without significant contribution to the study design, data collection, data analysis, and synthesis is not eligible for this competition.
  • A single static PowerPoint slide is permitted. No slide transitions, animations or 'movement' of any kind are allowed. The slide will be presented from the beginning of the oration.
  • No additional electronic media (e.g. sound and video files) are permitted.
  • No additional props (e.g. costumes, musical instruments, laboratory equipment) are permitted.
  • Presentations are to be spoken word (e.g., no poems, raps or songs).

Presentations are limited to 3 minutes. With 30 seconds to go, the timekeeper will notify the presenter. A bell chimes at the end of the 3-minute period. If a competitor continues to speak after the bell chimes, he or she is disqualified from the competition.  Presentations are considered to have commenced when a presenter starts his or her presentation through either movement or speech.

Competitors will be notified of the status of their submission by February 17, 2020. If entered into the competition, it is expected that you will register for and attend the conference.  We look forward to seeing you in Napa, California!

Click HERE to Register for the 3-Minute Thesis Competition!

2019 3-Minute Thesis Winners
  • Three Minute Thesis Winner:  Layton Reesor, The University of Houston
  • Three Minute Thesis People’s Choice (same person as above):  Layton Reesor, The University of Houston
  • Three Minute Thesis Runner-Up:  Tzung-Shiang Ou, Indiana University
  • Three Minute Thesis Second Runner-Up:  Matthew Kearney, Drexel University

2018 3-Minute Thesis Winners

1st Place Award & People's Choice Award: Vinu IIakkuvan, George Washington University

2nd Place Award: Taylor Lensch, University of Nevada, Reno

2017 3-Minute Thesis Winners

1st Place: Brittany Hollerbach, Kansas State University

People's Choice: Xuewei Chen, Texas A&M University

Sample Slide Images Below:

Submit your Accepted Abstract for the 3-Minute Thesis Competition! 

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software