



March 12, 2023

Dear colleagues,

Welcome to the 23rd annual Scientific Meeting of the American Academy of Health Behavior- The science of identities: measurement & methods for translational health behavior research. We have an excellent slate of premier speakers and I am excited to learn alongside you as we explore this theme over the next few days. Our speakers will delve into topics related to health (in)equities in the context of racism and systemic policies, the intersectionality and intersectional analyses, measurement challenges and issues of data validity that arise from these complexities, lifecourse and place-based considerations, and more as they relate to health behavior and translational research.

The meeting officially begins Sunday evening where we recognize this year's Research Laureate, the winners of the Mentorship and Judy K. Black Early Career Awards, our Research Scholars and Mentoring Program class, and Fellows. Poster sessions with refreshments are held every evening and provide an opportunity to learn and network before heading out to dinner with new friends and colleagues. Join us in the mornings for breakfast and more networking, with focused topics at Monday's breakfast roundtables.

Additionally, we will have two skills-enhancing, professional development luncheons. Monday's luncheon will feature a talk on "Power, precision, and sample-size analysis in Stata, with notes on reproducible reporting" and Tuesday's luncheon will be on "Communicating Diversity in Academia: Verbal, Written, and Action." Top-scored abstracts will be featured in Research Lightening Talks throughout the program and the crowd-favorite, the Three Minute Thesis, returns. Don't miss the Monday afternoon Unplug Event, a group walk through downtown San Francisco. We conclude on Wednesday with a summary session facilitated by Dr. Lawrence Green and end the meeting with the inauguration of Dr. Hsien-Chang Lin as the 23rd President of the Academy.

It takes a village to build a program. I want to extend my deepest gratitude to Dr. Scott Rhodes, Dr. David Seal, Dr. Lisa Benz Scott, Dr. Matthew Rossheim, members of the Diversity and Equity Council, and the Conference Planning Committee for the many hours of thought and labor given to this meeting. I also want to thank the members of the Board of Directors. This past year was a year of growth and innovation, all thanks to the dedication and energy of this amazing Board. Above all, Joanne Sommers, our Executive Director, deserves all the accolades I can give for the work she does behind the scenes to keep us afloat.

Enjoy the meeting, everything the city has to offer, and let us know what you think on our meeting evaluation.

To that end-enjoy, engage, and evaluate!

Annie Lu Nguyen, PhD, MPH, CPH AAHB President, 2022-23

2022-2023 Board of Directors

Annie L. Nguyen, PhD, MPH Hsien-Chang Lin, PhD, FAAHB

Katie Heinrich, PhD, FACSM, FAAHB, CF-L1

Wenhua Lu, PhD Idethia S. Harvey, DrPH Paul Branscum, PhD, FAAHB

Philip Massey, PhD Ledric Sherman, PhD

Adam Barry, PhD, FAAHB

Erika Thompson, PhD, FAAHB

David W. Seal, PhD, FAAHB

Katie Dolphin, PhD Anna Price, PhD, FAAHB

Ruopeng An, PhD

Scott Rhodes, PhD, FAAHB

Joanne Sommers, MEd, CHES

President President-Elect

Past President Treasurer

Secretary Member Delegate

Member Delegate Member Delegate

Chair, Membership Council

Chair, Professional Development and Mentoring Council

Chair, Equity and Diversity Council

Chair, Marketing and Communication Council Chair, Resource and Development Council

Chair, Awards Council

2023 Scientific Meeting Conference Co-Chair

Executive Director

2023 Conference Planning Committee

Scott Rhodes, PhD, FAAHB Annie L. Nguyen, PhD, MPH

Lisa Benz-Scott, PhD David Seal, PhD, FAAHB

Matthew Rossheim, PhD, FAAHB Meg Patterson, PhD, FAAHB

Ruopeng An, PhD

Anna Price, PhD, FAAHB

Erika Thompson, PhD, FAAHB

Katie Dolphin, PhD

Members of the Diversity and Equity Council

Joanne Sommers, M.Ed., CHES

Conference Planning Co-Chair Conference Planning Co-Chair

Program Co-Chair Program Co-Chair

Research Review Chair Past Research Review Chair

Chair, Awards Council

Resource Development Chair

Professional Development and Mentoring Council Chair

Marketing and Communication Council Chair

Advisory

Executive Director

2023 Abstract Reviewers and Poster Judges (in bold)

Paul Branscum Molly Greaney **Katie Heinrich**

Jessie King Jensen Wenhua Lu

Philip Massey Julie Merten Roy Oman Jessica Rath

Chris Robbins Dong-Chul Seo Erika Trapl Ken Ward

Keith Zullig

Angela Chow Sarah Griffin

Daphne C. Hernandez

Nolan Kline Yu Lu

Justin McDaniel Michele Moore **Meg Patterson**

Mark Reed Matthew Rossheim Mary Steinhardt

Danny Valdez Marilyn Wende Ana Cristina Lindsay Stacey Griner

Wura Jacobs Scott Leatherdale

Jon Macv

Robert J. McDermott

Annie Nguyen **Drew Pickett** Lorraine Reitzel Michael Rovito Steve Y. Sussman

Eric Walsh-Buhi Michael Young

Tapati Dutta

Idethia Shevon Harvey Andrew Kaczynski Hsien-Chang Lin Sarah Maness **Ashley Merianos** Jebose Okwumabua Tyler Prochnow

Libby Richards Laura Schwab Reese **Erika Thompson** Rose Marie Ward Kristina Zierold