

Rita DiGioacchino DeBate, PhD, MPH, FAED, FAAHB
Professor and Assistant Dean for Graduate Programs
Department of Community & Family Health
College of Public Health
University of South Florida

President
American Academy of Health Behavior

http://www.aahb.org

March 16, 2014

Dear Academy Members and Colleagues:

As President of the American Academy of Health Behavior, I am pleased to welcome you to our 14th annual scientific meeting --*Environment, Policy & Behavior Change*. The meeting will provide a attendees with the chance to interact directly with the field's best researcher who research environmental and policy impacts on behavior change.

We have a very strong slate of nationally known speakers and an exciting meeting agenda. Additionally, this year's meeting includes two exceptional workshops on "Strategies for Obtaining External Funding from Non-Governmental Sources" and "Health Literacy: What is it and How Can We Apply it to Health Behavior Research?" as well as breakfast roundtables, AAHB Fellow-sponsored mentoring seminars, poster sessions, and evening social events. Also, I would like to personally invite all AAHB members to attend the second annual AAHB Business Meeting on Tuesday at 4:45pm. Please refer to the eProgram at <a href="http://aahb.wildapricot.org/2014">http://aahb.wildapricot.org/2014</a> Electronic Program for details regarding days, times, rooms, and descriptions.

Most notably, at the opening session on Sunday evening we will proudly recognize Dr. David Abrams as the 2014 AAHB Research Laureate, Dr. Kaigang Li as the 2014 Judy K. Black Award winner, and the 2014 AAHB Fellows. On Wednesday morning, Dr. Dong-Chul Seo will be inaugurated as the 14th President of The Academy.

The planning for our annual meeting is a task requiring considerable effort and time. The Board of Directors and the Conference Planning Committee (see back of this page) has worked for over a year to bring this program to all of us. I want to thank Dr. Renee Umstattd Meyer for her leadership in developing the conference program and to Dr. Mark Reed for directing this year's poster abstract and award review process. Both have dedicated countless hours to bring us a top notch slate of speakers and poster presentations. Room does not permit thanking each committee member, but they each deserve high kudos for all their work in developing the activities that wrap around each morning's program. And we would all agree that the person who holds us all together is Joanne Sommers, our Executive Director, who ensures that the day-to-day operations of the Academy run smoothly and efficiently!

You will be receiving an email shortly after the meeting to complete our online meeting evaluation. We look forward to your feedback regarding this year's meeting — we take your comments very seriously and each year point to changes we've made based on participant comments.

Best wishes for an enjoyable conference experience!

Sincerely,

Rita DiGioacchino DeBate, PhD, MPH, FAED, FAAHB 2013-2014 AAHB President

## 2013-2014 Board of Directors

Rita DeBate, PhD President Dong-Chul Seo, PhD President-Elect Scott Olds, HSD Past President Jeff Hallam, PhD Treasurer Erika Trapl, PhD Secretary Lisa Benz Scott, PhD Delegate Kelli Will, PhD Delegate Scott Leischow, PhD Delegate

Diane Abatemarco, PhD Chair, Awards Council

Eric Buhi. PhD Chair, Marketing & Communication Council Jim Neff, PhD Chair, Membership Development Council

Lara McKenzie, PhD Chair, Professional Development and Mentorship Committee

Brian Colwell, PhD Chair, Resource Development Council 2014 Annual Scientific Meeting Chair M. Renée Umstattdt, PhD Joanne Sommers, M.Ed. Executive Director (non-voting)

## 2013 Annual Scientific Meeting Planning Committee

M. Renée Umstattdt, PhD 2014 Annual Scientific Meeting Chair

Anrdrea Gielen, PhD **Program Chair** Elbert D. Glover, PhD **Program Chair** Jay E. Maddock, PhD **Program Chair** 

Alexis Koskan

Mark Reed, PhD Research Abstract Chair

Eric Buhi, PhD Representative, Marketing and Communication Lara McKenzie, PhD Representative, Professional Development Brian Colwell, PhD Representative, Resource Development Council

Dong-Chul Seo, PhD **New Fellows Recognition** Diane Abatemarco, PhD Representative, Awards Council Joanne Sommers, M.Ed **Registration and Meeting Logistics** 

## **Poster Abstract Poster Award Judges: Poster Abstract Poster Abstract** Reviewers: **Reviewers: Reviewers:** Elbert Glover, PhD, FAAHB **Anthony Randles** Idethia Shevon Harvey, DrPH Diane Abatemarco Jennie Kronenfeld

Kaigang Li, PhD Mark Reed, PhD Peter Wang, PhD, FAAHB

Alternate Judges: Lorraine Reitzel, PhD Mary Steinhardt, EdD, LPC

Jessica Rath Moya Alfonso James Lange Lorraine Reitzel Adam Barry Amy Leader Lorraine Reitzel Lisa Benz Scott Adam Leventhal Mayra Rodriguez Elaine Borawski Kaigang Li Dong-Chul Seo Eric Buhi Hsien-Chang Lin John **Audrey Shillington** Jennifer Cantrell Macy Matthew Smith Joan Carlson Jay Maddock **Shedra Snipes** Mark Dignan Philip Massey Mary Steinhardt Michael Dunn Lisako McKver Steve Sussman Paul Estabrooks Shiraz Mishra Mohammad Torabi Katie Faulk Naomi Modeste Ericka Trapl Robert Feldman Michele Moore Peter Wang Tamar Ginossar Don Morisky Ken Ward Christian Gloria Christina Mushi **Ruth White** Elbert Glover Ray Niaura Tracev Wilson Amy Hammock Jen Nickelson Michael Young **Idethia Harvey** Roy Oman Kristina Zierold Jennifer Pearson Katie Heinrich Rick Zimmerman Adam Knowldam Christina Perry Keith Zullig

Anna Price