

Katie M. Heinrich, PhD, FAAHB, FACSM AAHB President, 2021-2022 920 Denison Ave., 8 Natatorium Department of Kinesiology Kansas State University Manhattan, KS 66506

http://www.aahb.org

March 13, 2022

Dear Academy Members and Annual Meeting Attendees,

It is my pleasure to welcome you to the 22<sup>nd</sup> Annual Scientific Meeting of the American Academy of Health Behavior. It may surprise you to learn that the meeting theme "The Science of Health Behaviors in Times of Crises" was chosen prior to the COVID-19 global pandemic, and yet it is a timely fit. This meeting will provide attendees with opportunities to directly engage with and learn from leading and emerging health behavior researchers actively engaged in this and other vital health behavior research.

Our schedule includes an outstanding line-up of speakers and events. We are excited to kick off the annual meeting by recognizing our award-winning members from the past two years leading into an Opening Reception & Celebration of being back together in-person! While we will be following the latest CDC guidelines regarding vaccinations and masking, we are truly thrilled for this opportunity to have in-person interactions. For the first time we will have two series of Ignite Research Presentations, given by authors of the top-scoring abstracts. In these 5-minute presentations, presenters use 20 slides, which auto-advance every 15 seconds making for a fast and engaging presentation. Themed breakfast sessions include Professional Development and Mentoring Pairs Presentations (Monday), "Performing meta-analysis in Stata" (Tuesday), and an AAHB Meeting of the Membership (Wednesday) that is open to all conference attendees. A traditional Professional Development and Mentoring Presentation "Incorporating Artificial Intelligence in Public Health Teaching and Practice" will be held during lunch on Tuesday. Audience members will help pick the "crowd favorite" winner of the 3 Minute Thesis Competition on Tuesday morning.

Planning for our first in-person meeting since 2019, has been challenging but rewarding. The Board of Directors and the Conference Planning Committee have spent considerable time and effort to bring this program to you. I want to thank Co-Chairs Dr. Ledric Sherman and Past-President Dr. Lisako McKyer, FAAHB for their leadership and persistence despite multiple roadblocks, Program Co-Chairs Dr. Lisako McKyer and Dr. Samuel Towne for putting together an excellent meeting agenda, Dr. Meg Patterson for directing this year's research review and poster abstract process, the rest of the Planning Committee for their assistance, and especially Joanne Sommers, our Executive Director who has been phenomenal in problem-solving, reminders, and basically making sure we had a meeting at all! I also want to thank each of the Board members who dedicate their time and efforts to serve the Academy throughout the year.

Finally, I want to thank each one of you who decided to take a chance and attend the 2022 AAHB Annual Meeting inperson. We could not have this conference without you. I hope that you not only have an excellent experience as I did at my first AAHB annual meeting in 2011, but that you decide to come back to future meetings and invite your health behavior research friends. Please make sure to share your feedback on the conference evaluation survey.

Welcome again, and I hope you have an enjoyable time at the AAHB 2022 Annual Scientific Meeting!

Katie M. Heinrich, PhD, FAAHB, FACSM AAHB President

## 2021-2022 Board of Directors

Katie Heinrich, PhD, FACSM, FAAHB, CF-L1 Annie L. Nguyen, PhD, MPH E. Lisako McKyer, PhD, FAAHB Jessica Rath, PhD Idethia S. Harvey, DrPH Daphne Hernandez, PhD, FAAHB Paul Branscum, PhD, FAAHB Philip Massey, PhD Lorraine Reitzel, PhD, FAAHB Sarah Griffin, PhD David W, Seal, PhD, FAAHB Katie Dolphin, PhD Dennis Thombs, PhD, FAAHB Ruopeng An, PhD Ledric Sherman, PhD Joanne Sommers, M.Ed., CHES

President President-Elect Past President & 2022 Scientific Meeting Conference Co-Chair Treasurer Secretary Member Delegate Member Delegate Member Delegate Chair, Membership Council Chair, Professional Development and Mentoring Council Chair, Equity and Diversity Council Chair, Marketing and Communication Council Chair, Resource and Development Council Chair, Awards Council 2022 Scientific Meeting Conference Co-Chair **Executive Director** 

## 2022 Conference Planning Committee

Ledric D. Sherman, PhD E. Lisako McKyer, PhD, FAAHB Samuel Towne, PhD, MPH, CPH, FAAHB Ruopeng An, PhD Dennis Thombs, PhD, FAAHB Megan S. Patterson, PhD Erika Thompson, PhD, FAAHB Sarah Griffin, PhD Katie Heinrich, PhD, FACSM, FAAHB, CF-L1 Katie Dolphin, PhD David W. Seal, PhD, FAAHB Joanne Sommers, M.Ed., CHES Conference Planning Co-Chair Conference Planning and Program Co-Chair, Past Chair Conference Planning Program Co-Chair and Past Chair Chair, Awards Council Resource Development Chair Research Review Committee Chair Past Research Review Chair Professional Development and Mentoring Council Chair President Marketing and Communication Council Chair Equity and Diversity Council Chair Executive Director

## 2022 Poster Award Judges

Sarah Griffin Wura Jacobs Andrew Kaczynski Hsien-Chang Lin Wenhua Lu Sarah Maness Philip Massey Ashley Merianos

Elizabeth G. Klein

Scott Leatherdale

Ana Cristina Lindsay

Hsien-Chang Lin

Wenhua Lu

Jay Maddock

Sarah Maness

Philip Massey

Lisako McKyer

Alice Ma

Jennie Jacobs Kronenfeld

Annie Nguyen Roy Oman Meg Patterson Tyler Prochnow Matthew Rossheim Alex Russell Steven Sussman Erika Thompson

Adam Barry Jose Bauermeister Paul Branscum Mary (Molly) Greaney Sarah Griffin Jeff Hallam Katie Heinrich Daphne Hernandez Wura Jacobs Wasantha Jayawardene Andrew Kaczynski 2022 Abstract Reviewers

Ashley Merianos Michele J. Moore Annie Nguyen Roy Oman Meg Patterson Tyler Prochnow Elizabeth (Libby) Richards Michael Rovito Alex Russell Laura Schwab Reese David A. Sleet Mary Steinhardt Steve Sussman Erika Thompson Erika Trapl Renee Umstattd Meyer Ken Ward Rose Marie Ward Michael Young Kristina Zierold Keith Zullig