

M. Renée Umstattd Meyer, PhD MCHES Associate Professor of Public Health Baylor University, Waco, TX Renee_Umstattd@Baylor.edu http://www.aahb.org

March 4, 2018

Dear Academy Members and Colleagues:

As President of the American Academy of Health Behavior, I am pleased to welcome you to the 18th Annual Scientific Meeting– *An Equity Approach to Health Behavior Innovations*. The meeting will provide attendees with the opportunity to interact directly with and learn from the field's best researchers and leaders actively engaged in this vital area of work.

We have a very strong slate of nationally and internationally known speakers and an exciting meeting agenda. The speakers will reflect on what we know and how to move forward with an equity approach in conducting novel, rigorous, and thought-provoking health behavior research. In addition, this year's conference includes two exceptional professional development luncheons on "Keys to Quality Mentorship and Productive Collaborations: Lessons Learned from AAHB Scholars" and "Natural experiments: Innovative methodology in applied health promotion and chronic disease research", as well as breakfast roundtables, peer-reviewed poster sessions, un-plugged events, and evening socials. We will have the State of the Academy annual business meeting Tuesday at 3:30 pm. This meeting is open to all conference attendees. Please join us for the Awards Breakfast on Wednesday morning as we celebrate our awardees and the contributions they have made to the Academy and to our discipline. Immediately following the Awards Breakfast on Wednesday morning we will conclude with an engaging dialogue led by several Research Laureates of the Academy as they discuss their perspectives on equity approaches to health behavior research.

At the opening session on Sunday evening we will proudly recognize Dr. John D. Clapp as the 2018 AAHB Research Laureate and Drs. Shervin Assari, Adam Barry, Elaine Borawski, Kenneth Michael Cummings, Derek Griffith, Eric Walsh-Buhi, and Robert Weiler as the 2017 Class of AAHB Fellows. On Tuesday evening, Dr. Mark Reed will be inaugurated as the 18th President of The Academy.

The planning for our annual meeting is a task requiring considerable effort and time. The Board of Directors and the Conference Planning Committee have worked for over two years to bring this program you. I want to thank Drs. Erika Trapl and Lisako McKyer for their leadership in coordinating and leading our conference planning and Dr. Annie Nguyen for directing this year's research review and poster abstract process. All members of the Conference Planning Committee dedicated countless hours to bring us a top-notch slate of speakers and research. I also want to thank each of the Board members who dedicate their time and energy to serving the Academy throughout the year and the person who keeps us all moving forward - Joanne Sommers, our Executive Director, who ensures that the day-to-day operations of the Academy run smoothly and efficiently!

You will be receiving an email shortly after the meeting to complete our online meeting evaluation. We look forward to receiving your feedback regarding this year's meeting.

Best wishes for an engaging and enjoyable Annual Scientific Meeting!

M. Renée Umstatted Meyer

M. Renée Umstattd Meyer, PhD, MCHES 2017-2018 AAHB President

2017-2018 Board of Directors

M. Renée Umstattd Meyer, PhD, MCHES Mark Reed, PhD Jay Maddock, PhD, FAAHB Jessica Rath, PhD Erika Trapl, PhD Anna Greer, PhD Katie Heinrich, PhD Lara McKenzie, PhD, FAAHB Julie Croff, PhD Mary Steinhardt, EdD, LPC E. Lisako McKyer, PhD, FAAHB Katie Dolphin, PhD Leigh Ann Simmons, PhD Matthew Smith, PhD, FAAHB Erika Trapl, PhD E. Lisako McKyer, PhD Joanne Sommers, M.Ed., CHES

President President-Elect Past President Treasurer Secretary Member Delegate Member Delegate Member Delegate Chair, Membership Council and Member Delegate Chair, Professional Development and Mentoring Council Chair, Equity and Diversity Council Chair, Marketing and Communication Council Chair, Resource and Development Council Chair, Awards Council 2018 Scientific Meeting Conference Chair 2018 Scientific Meeting Program Chair Executive Director

2018 Conference Planning Committee

Erika Trapl, PhD & E. Lisako McKyer, PhD Leigh Ann Simmons, PhD Annie Nguyen, PhD Mary Steinhardt, EdD, LPC Adam Barry, Ph.D. Jessica Rath, PhD M. Renée Umstattd Meyer, PhD, MCHES Katie Dolphin, PhD E. Lisako McKyer, PhD, FAAHB Matthew Lee Smith, PhD, FAAHB Joanne Sommers, M.Ed., CHES Conference Planning Committee Co-Chairs Resource Development Chair Research Review Committee Chair Professional Development and Mentoring Council Chair Conference Planning Committee Past Chair Treasurer President Marketing and Communication Council Chair and Local Host, Equity and Diversity Council Chair Awards Council Chair Executive Director

Poster Award Judges:

Ruopeng An	Jason Daniel-Ulloa	Anna Greer	Daphne Hernandez	Hsien-Chang Lin
Wenhua Lu	Jay Maddock	Phillip Massey	Julie Merten	Roy Oman
Mary Steinhardt	Steve Sussman	Mohammad Torabi	Shana Walsh	

2018 Abstract Reviewers:

Adam Barry Christina Sun Jennifer Cantrell M. Renée Umstattd Meyer Alison Oberne Christine Williams Jennifer Evans Marie Boman-Davis Amir Bhochhibhoya Christopher Robbins Jessica King Mark Reed Ana Cristina Lindsay Claudia Wang Jessica Rath Mary Greaney Andrea DeMaria Colleen Redding Jing Wang Mary Steinhardt Andrea McDonald Coralia Vazquez-Otero John Bernhart Mary Step Angela Bowman Danielle Madden John Lowe Matthew Rossheim Angelia Paschal Matthew Smith Daphne Hernandez Jon Macy Meg Patterson Ann Amuta David Randy Black Jordan Alpert Anna Greer David Seal Jordan Nelon Megan Knapp Annie Nguyen Dede Teteh Julie Merten Megan McClendon Ashley Merianos Derek Crawford Kaigang Li Meghan Shewmake Audrey Rehberg Devon Noonan Katie Heinrich Melinda Villagran Aya Yoshikawa Kayce Solari Williams Michele Moore Eric Conrad Barry Hunt Erika Thompson Keith Zullig Mohammad Torabi Blair Coleman Helen Mahony Kele Ding Morgane Bennett Brie Turner-McGrievy Helen Tarp Kelly Ylitalo Nga Nguyen Hsien-Chang Lin Kerry Evers Nicole Yuan Brittany Rosen Idethia Shevon Harvey Kristina Zierold Ollie Ganz C. Emily Hendrick Carolyn Johnson Jason Daniel-Ulloa Ledric Sherman Paul Branscum Cheryl Der Ananian Jay Maddock Lenna Dawkins-Moultin Pawankumar Patil Chia-Yuan Yu Jebose Okwumabua Lingling Zhang Philip Massey Christina Bridges Jennie Kronenfeld Lisa Wigfall Rachael Nolan

Randolph Hubach Rosenda Murillo Roy Oman Ruopeng An Sarah Griffin Sarah Maness Shambhavi Singh Shana Walsh Shervin Assari Shervl Chatfield Shinduk Lee Stacey Griner Steve Sussman Thometta Cozart Tyler Prochnow Vinayak Nahar Wasantha Jayawardene Wenhua Lu William Cabin Wura Jacobs Xuewei Chen Yan Huang