

A MULTIDISCIPLINARY SOCIETY OF HEALTH BEHAVIOR SCHOLARS AND RESEARCHERS

Elaine A. Borawski, Ph.D.

Angela Bowen Williamson Professorship of Community Nutrition Depts. of Epidemiology and Biostatistics and Nutrition Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine Cleveland. Ohio

> President American Academy of Health Behavior

March 18, 2012

Dear Academy Members and Other Colleagues:

As President of the American Academy of Health Behavior, I am pleased to welcome you to our 12th annual scientific meeting - *Applications of Technology in Health Behavior Research*. The meeting will provide a forum for learning firsthand about the ways internet, mobile and other technologies can enhance our behavioral interventions, our data collection methods and simply the way we approach health behavior research in the future.

As you will see in the conference program, we have a strong slate of speakers and an exciting meeting agenda. There are three exceptional workshops on social media, electronic data collection tools and GIS mapping, as well as breakfast roundtables, AAHB Fellow-supported mentoring seminars, poster sessions, and evening social events. On Monday night, in alignment with our meeting theme will be a special session dedicated to technology demonstrations by our members who have integrated technology into their interventions and research. And we will proudly recognize Dr. Andrea Gielen as the 2012 Research Laureate, Dr. Adam Leventhal as the 2012 Judy K. Black Award winner, the newest cohort of AAHB Fellows, and on Wednesday morning, Dr. Scott Olds will be inaugurated as the 12th President of The Academy.

This year we made a concerted effort to be more "green" by limiting the paper materials and putting as much as possible onto our electronic program located on the AAHB website (www.aahb.org/2012 program.html). We look forward to hearing your feedback on this new innovation in our annual meeting.

The planning for our annual meeting is a task requiring a considerable amount of effort. The Board of Directors and the Conference Planning Committee (see back of this page) has worked for over a year to bring this program to all of us. I want to thank Dr. Herb Severson for his leadership in developing the conference program and to Dr. Mary Steinhardt for directing this year's poster abstract and award review process. Both have spent countless hours out of their busy professional lives to bring us a top notch slate of speakers and poster presentations. Room does not permit thanking each committee member, but they each deserve high kudos for all their work in developing the activities that wrap around each morning's program. And we would all agree that the person who holds us all together is Joanne Sommers, our Executive Director, who ensures that the day-to-day operations of the Academy run smoothly and efficiently!

You will be receiving an email shortly after the meeting to complete our online meeting evaluation. We look forward to your reactions to this year's meeting — we take your comments very seriously and each year we can point to changes we've made based on participant comments.

With best wishes for an enjoyable conference experience,

Elaine A. Borawski, PhD 2011-2012 AAHB President



2011-2012 Board of Directors

Elaine Borawski, PhD President
R. Scott Olds, PhD President-Elect
David Seal, PhD Past President
Rita DeBate, PhD Treasurer
Virginia Dodd, PhD Secretary
Lisa Benz Scott, PhD Delegate

Lisa Benz Scott, PhD

Delegate
Dong-Chul Seo, PhD

Scott Leischow, PhD

Delegate
Delegate

Diane Abatemarco, PhD Chair, Marketing & Communication Council
Elbert Glover, PhD Chair, Membership Development Council
M. Renée Umstattdt, PhD Chair, Professional Development Council
Lyndie Forthofer, PhD Chair, Resource Development Council

Herb Severson, PhD 2012 Program Chair, Conference Planning Co-Chair

Joanne Sommers, MEd Executive Director (non-voting)

http://www.aahb.org/Gov Officers.html

2012 Annual Scientific Meeting Conference Planning Committee

Program Chair and Committee Co-Chair Herb Severson, PhD
Committee Co-Chair Elaine Borawski, PhD
Research Abstract Chair Mary Steinhardt, EdD

Tech Demo Session Chair Eric Buhi, PhD

Representative, Marketing and Communication Diane Abatemarco, PhD (resp for marketing meeting, sponsorships and evaluation)

Representative, Professional Development M. Renée Umstattdt, PhD

(resp for workshops and mentoring luncheons)

New Fellows Recognition

Session Chairs

Herb Severson, PhD
Rita DeBate, PhD

Judy K. Black Committee M. Renée Umstattdt, PhD

Elbert Glover, PhD

Poster Award Judges Mary Greaney, Jeff Hallam, Katie Heinrich, Mark Reed, Lisa Benz Scott, Mary Steinhardt

Diane Abatemarco, PhD

2012 Research Laureate Selection Committee Dennis Thombs, PhD
Registration and Meeting Logistics Joanne Sommers, MEd

Poster Abstract Reviewers: Diane Abatemarco, Eric Buhi, Jessica Duncan Cance, Julie Croff, Virginia Dodd, Robert Feldman, Melinda Forthofer, Mary Greaney, Kerry Green, Jeff Hallam, Amy Hammock, Idethia Shevon Harvey, Katie Heinrich, Amar Kanekar, Jennie Kronenfeld, Erin Largo-Wight, Sherri LaVela, Alexandra Loukas, Jay Maddock, Naomi Modeste, Michele Johnson Moore, Roy Oman, Keryn Pasch, Christina Perry, Mark Reed, Lisa Benz Scott, Herb Severson, Manoj Sharma, Mohammad Torabi, Erika Trapl, Lori Turner, Renee Umstattd, Ken Ward, Robert Weiler, Michael Young

Tech Demo Abstract Reviewers: Heather Blunt, Eric Buhi, Herb Severson, David Tilley, Christopher Wheldon, Erin Largo-Wight