

Mark B. Reed, PhD
Professor and Associate Dean
San Diego State University
mreed@sdsu.edu
http://www.aahb.org

March 10, 2019

Dear Academy Members and Colleagues:

As President of the American Academy of Health Behavior, I am pleased to welcome you to the 19th Annual Scientific Meeting—*Theory and Applications of Multiple Health Behavior Change*. The meeting will provide attendees with the opportunity to interact directly with and learn from the field's best researchers and leaders actively engaged in this vital area of work.

We have a very strong slate of nationally and internationally known speakers and an exciting meeting agenda. The speakers will reflect on theory and applications of multiple health behavior change, including discussing theoretical foundations for this direction of research, examining common influences that can impact two or more behaviors simultaneously, and presenting design and analysis methods to develop, test, and disseminate multiple health behavior change interventions for individuals and communities. In addition, this year's conference includes two exceptional professional development luncheons on "Keys to Quality Mentorship and Productive Collaborations: Lessons Learned from AAHB Scholars" and "Accessing and Understanding the Adolescent Brain Cognitive Development (ABCD) Study: An Introduction to the Adolescent Brain Cognitive Development Study Dataset." There will also be morning breakfast roundtables, peer-reviewed poster sessions, un-plugged events, and evening socials. We will have the State of the Academy annual business meeting on Tuesday at 3:30 pm. This meeting is open to all conference attendees.

Please join us for the Awards Breakfast on Wednesday morning as we celebrate our awardees and the contributions they have made to the Academy and to our discipline. Immediately following the Awards Breakfast on Wednesday morning, we will conclude with an engaging dialogue led by several Research Laureates and Fellows of the Academy as they discuss their perspectives on new directions for health behavior research.

At the opening session on Sunday evening we will proudly recognize Dr. Michael Cummings as the 2019 AAHB Research Laureate and Drs. Ashley L. Merianos and Renée Umstattd Meyer as the 2018 Class of AAHB Fellows. On Tuesday evening, Dr. Lara McKenzie will be inaugurated as the 19th President of the Academy.

The planning for our annual meeting is a task requiring considerable efforts and time. The Board of Directors and the Conference Planning Committee have worked for over two years to bring this program to you. I want to thank Dr. Hsien-Chang Lin for his leadership in coordinating and leading our conference planning, Drs. Julie Croff and Leigh Ann Simmons for serving as Program Chairs, and Dr. Daphne Hernandez for directing this year's research review and poster abstract process. All members of the Conference Planning Committee dedicated countless hours to bring us a top-notch slate of speakers and research. I also want to thank each of the Board members who dedicate their time and energy to serving the Academy throughout the year and the person who keeps us all moving forward - Joanne Sommers, our Executive Director, who ensures that the day-to-day operations of the Academy run smoothly and efficiently!

You will be receiving an email shortly after the meeting to complete our online meeting evaluation. We look forward to receiving your feedback regarding this year's meeting.

Best wishes for an engaging and enjoyable Annual Scientific Meeting!

Mark Reed, PhD, 2018-2019

AAHB President

2018-2019 Board of Directors

President

Secretary

Mark Reed, PhD Lara McKenzie, PhD, FAAHB

President-Elect M. Renée Umstattd Meyer, PhD, MCHES, FAAHB Past President Treasurer

Jessica Rath, PhD Annie Nguyen, PhD Anna Greer, PhD Katie Heinrich, PhD

Mohammad Torabi, PhD, MPH, FAAHB

Julie Croff, PhD

Mary Steinhardt, EdD, LPC

Wenhua Lu, PhD Katie Dolphin, PhD Leigh Ann Simmons, PhD

Hsien-Chang Lin, PhD

Joanne Sommers, M.Ed., CHES

Member Delegate Member Delegate Chair, Membership Council and Member Delegate Chair, Professional Development and Mentoring Council

Chair, Equity and Diversity Council

Chair, Marketing and Communication Council Chair, Resource and Development Council

Chair, Awards Council & 2019 Scientific Meeting Conference Chair

Executive Director

Member Delegate

2019 Conference Planning Committee

Hsien-Chang Lin, PhD

Julie Croff, PhD & Leigh Ann Simmons, PhD

Leigh Ann Simmons, PhD Daphne Hernandez, PhD

Mary Steinhardt, EdD, LPC

Erika Trapl, PhD Jessica Rath, PhD Mark Reed, PhD

Katie Dolphin, PhD

Wenhua Lu, PhD

Joanne Sommers, M.Ed., CHES

Conference Planning Chair & Awards Council Chair

2019 Scientific Meeting Program Chairs

Resource Development Chair Research Review Committee Chair

Professional Development and Mentoring Council Chair

Conference Planning Committee Past Chair

Treasurer President

Marketing and Communication Council Chair

Equity and Diversity Council Chair

Executive Director

Poster Award Judges

Elaine Borawski Daphne Hernandez Wenhua Lu Annie Nguyen Elbert Glover Randy Hubach Jay Maddock Steve Sussman Sarah Griffin Rick Zimmerman Carolyn Johnson Lisako McKyer

2019 Abstract Reviewers:

Asrat G Amnie	Glover	Kaigang Li	Meg Patterson	Christina Jiayi Sun
Ann Amuta	Mary Greaney	Hsien-Chang Lin	Susan Rawl	Erika Thompson
Ruopeng An	Anna Greer	Wenhua Lu	Mark B. Reed	Mohammad Torabi
Cheryl Der Ananian	Shannon Gwin	Hala Madanat	Lorraine Reitzel	Peizhong Peter Wang
Adam Barry	Jeff Hallam	Jay Maddock	Elizabeth A. Richards	Ken Ward
Lauren Bartoszek	Idethia Shevon Harvey	Sarah Maness	Libby Richards	Lisa Wigfall
David R. Black	Katie Heinrich	Philip Massey	Christopher B. Robbins	Erin Largo-Wight
Elaine Borawski	Daphne C. Hernandez	Robert J. McDermott	Kristi Roberts	Amanda Wilkerson
Paul Branscum	Brittany Hollerbach	Ashley Merianos	Brittany Rosen	Kelli England Will
Blair Coleman	Yan Huang	Julie Merten	Matthew E. Rossheim	Kayce Solari Williams
Sarah J. Cosgrove	Randolph Hubach	M. Renée Umstattd Meyer	Yumary Ruiz	Kelly R. Ylitalo
Derek Crawford	Wura Jacobs	Michele Moore	Dong-Chul Seo	Michael Young
K. Michael Cummings	Wasantha Jayawardene	Vinayak K. Nahar	Ledric Sherman	Chia-Yuan Yu
Andrea L. DeMaria	Carolyn C Johnson	Annie Nguyen	Audrey Shillington	Kristina Zierold
Kele Ding	Jessica King	Chisom Odoh	Matthew Lee Smith	Keith Zullig
Katie Dolphin	Beth Lanning	Mary Odum	Mary Steinhardt	
Elizabeth Fore	Scott Leatherdale	Roy Oman	Mary M. Step	