

Jay E. Maddock, PhD, FAAHB Dean and Professor School of Public Health Texas A&M University College Station, TX 77843 http://www.aahb.org

March 19, 2017

Dear Academy Members and Colleagues:

As President of the American Academy of Health Behavior, I am pleased to welcome you to the 17th Annual Scientific Meeting– *Health Behavior Research in the Age of Personalized Medicine*. The meeting will provide attendees with the opportunity to interact directly with the field's best researchers and thought leaders.

We have a very strong slate of nationally known speakers and an exciting meeting agenda. The speakers will reflect on what we have learned and how to move us forward in conducting novel, rigorous, and thought provoking research. In addition, this year's conference includes <u>two exceptional professional development luncheons</u> on "An Introduction to Working with Secondary Data" and "Keys to Quality Mentorship and Productive Collaborations: Lessons Learned from AAHB Scholars", as well as breakfast roundtables, peer-reviewed poster sessions, un-plug events, and evening social events. Moreover, on Wednesday afternoon several Research Laureates of the Academy will discuss their perspectives on the future of health behavior research. Furthermore, we will have the State of the Academy annual meeting Tuesday at 3:30 pm. This meeting is open to all conference attendees. Please join us for the Awards Breakfast on Wednesday morning as we celebrate our awardees and the contributions they have made to the Academy and to our discipline.

At the opening session on Sunday evening we will proudly recognize Dr. Kenneth Ward as the 2017 AAHB Research Laureate and Drs. Christine Delnevo, Lara McKenzie, E. Lisako McKyer, and Susan Rawl as the 2016 Class of AAHB Fellows. On Tuesday evening, Dr. Renée Umstattd Meyer will be inaugurated as the 17th President of The Academy.

The planning for our annual meeting is a task requiring considerable effort and time. The Board of Directors and the Conference Planning Committee have worked for over a year to bring this program you. I want to thank Dr. Adam Barry for his leadership in coordinating and leading our conference planning and Dr. Abigail Gamble for directing this year's poster abstract process. All members of the Conference Planning Committee dedicated countless hours to bring us a top-notch slate of speakers and research. I want to thank the person who holds us all together as well - Joanne Sommers, our Executive Director, who ensures that the day-to-day operations of the Academy run smoothly and efficiently!

You will be receiving an email shortly after the meeting to complete our online meeting evaluation. We look forward to your feedback regarding this year's meeting.

Best wishes for an enjoyable conference experience!

frog Madlock

Jay Maddock, PhD, FAAHB AAHB President

2016-2017 Board of Directors

Jay Maddock, PhD, FAAHB Renée Umstattd Meyer, PhD Jeffrey Hallam, PhD Jessica Rath, PhD Erika Trapl, PhD Anna Greer, PhD Lara McKenzie, PhD, FAAHB Julie Croff, PhD Mary Steinhardt, EdD, LPC E. Lisako McKyer, PhD, FAAHB Katie Heinrich, PhD Leigh Ann Simmons, PhD Matthew Smith, PhD, FAAHB Adam Barry, PhD Joanne Sommers, M.Ed., CHES

Adam Barry, Ph.D. Leigh Ann Simmons, PhD Abigail Gamble, PhD Mary Steinhardt, EdD, LPC Anna Greer, Ph.D. Jessica Rath, PhD Jay Maddock, PhD, FAAHB Katie Heinrich, PhD E. Lisako McKyer, PhD, FAAHB Matthew Lee Smith, PhD, FAAHB Scott Carvajal, PhD. Joanne Sommers, M.Ed., CHES

Ruopeng An	Molly Greaney	Idethia Harvey	Carolyn Johnson	Adam Knowlden
Hsien-Chang Lin	Sarah Maness	Lisako McKyer	Annie Nguyen	Roy Oman
Jessica Rath	Mark Reed	Mary Steinhardt	Erik Walsh-Buhi	Kenneth Ward

2017 Abstract Reviewers:

Jordan Alpert Amir Bhochhibhova Scott Carvajal Andrea DeMaria Joy Douglas Lorra Garey Mary Greaney Paul Harrell Yan Huang Wura Jacobs Kakul Joshi Jessie King Erin Largo-Wight Hsien-Chang Lin Megan McClendon Michele Moore Rachel Nolan Jessica Rath Brittany Rosen Yuyan Shi Lori Andersen Spruance Helen Tarp Shana Walsh Ken Ward Michael Young Kristina Zierold

Ann Amuta Angela Bowman Shervl Chatfield Cheryl Der Ananian Michael Dunn Whitney Garney Anna Greer Idethia Harvey Randolph Hubach Siwon Jang Amar Kanekar Adam Knowlden Shinduk Lee Wenhua Lu Andrea McDonald Rosenda Murillo Roy Oman Colleen Redding Matthew Rossheim Matthew Smith Mary Steinhardt Erika Thompson Eric Walsh-Buhi Christine Williams Chia-Yuan Yu Keith Zullig

Ruopeng An Christina Bridges Xuewei Chen Kele Ding Jared Embree Elbert Glover Sarah Griffin Katie Heinrich Barry Hunt Wasantha Jayawarden Karin Kasza Jennie Kronenfeld Kaigang Li Jon Macy Ashley Merianos Nga Nguyen Pawankumar Patil Mark Reed Danielle Ruderman Kayce Solari Williams Christina Sun Samuel Towne Margaret Walsh-Buhi Xiaoling Xiang Nicole Yuan

John Bernhart Jennifer Cantrell Eric Conrad Katie Dolphin Melissa Fair Brian Gordon Ho Han Daphne Hernandez Vinu Ilakkuvan Carolyn C Johnson Whitney Katirai Ram Lakhan Joey Lightner Sarah Maness Naomi Modeste Annie Nguyen Andrew Piazza Christopher Robbins Ledric Sherman Erica Spears Leigh Szucs Erika Trapl Claudia Wang Kelly Ylitalo Lingling Zhang

President President-Elect Past President Treasurer Secretary Member Delegate Member Delegate Chair, Membership Council and Member Delegate Chair, Professional Development and Mentoring Council Chair, Professional Development and Mentoring Council Chair, Equity and Diversity Council Chair, Marketing and Communication Council Chair, Resource and Development Council Chair, Awards Council Chair, 2017 Scientific Meeting Committee Executive Director

2017 Conference Planning Committee

Conference Planning Committee Chair Conference Planning Program Chair & Resource Development Chair Research Review Committee Chair Professional Development and Mentoring Council Chair Conference Planning Committee Past Chair Treasurer President Marketing and Communication Council Chair Equity and Diversity Council Chair Awards Council Chair Local Host, University of Arizona Executive Director

Poster Award Judges: