Academy Councils and Committees

There are many opportunities for Academy involvement. Members are encouraged to join a council or committee listed below by contacting the respective chair.

Members can also apply for the Annual Scientific Meeting Research Review Chair (formerly the Abstract chair) position by contacting AAHB Executive Director, Joanne Sommers at


 Chair and Members


Awards Council Chair: Ruopeng An
Term: 2021-2024
Katie Heinrich
Adam Knowlden
Kaigang Li
Hsien-Chang Lin

Wenhua Lu
Matthew Smith
Erika Thompson
Samuel Towne
  • Solicit and review applications for the Judy K. Black Award
  • Solicit and review applications for the Mentorship Award
  • Work with the Research Review Chair on the Conference Poster Awards (Professional and Student)
Diversity and Equity Council

Chair: David Seal

Xuewei Chen

Shevon Harvey

Yan Huang

Ping Ma

E. Lisako J. McKyer

Jebose Okwumabua

Wenhua Lu

Ledric Sherman

Christina Sun

Erika S. Trapl

Mohammad Torabi

  •  Work with the executive board to facilitate adoption, integration and maintenance of diversity and equity values throughout AAHB membership and its activities.
  • Interface with and provide support to other councils and committees to fulfill their responsibilities as they relate to diversity and equity issues.
Marketing and Communications Council

Chair: Kathryn E. Dolphin

Kelli England

Dana Litt

Drew Pickett

Yumary Ruiz

  • Evaluate and update website
  • Conduct member surveys
  • Disseminate scientific information such as conference proceedings
  • Market the organization
Membership Development Council

Chair: Lorraine Reitzel
Jennie Kronenfeld

Melissa Lewis

Mary Nies
Robert M. Weiler

  • Build and maintain memberships
  • Screen and evaluate membership applications
  • Establish appropriate criteria for membership
  • Review allegations of unethical member conduct
  • Administer procedures for revocation of membership
  • Screen and evaluate members as potential Fellows
Professional Development and Mentoring Council Chair: Sarah Griffin

Lauren Bartsch
Idethia Shevon Harvey   

Wura Jacobs

Hsien-Chang Lin                               Sarah Maness
Matthew Rossheim
Matthew Lee Smith
Erika Thompson
Amanda Wilkerson

  • To offer professional development opportunities for all levels of academy members: students, early career, established career
  • To facilitate year-round linkages and interactions between academy members
  • To promote increased recognition and honor of member accomplishments and contributions
Resource Development Council

Chair: Dennis Thombs

Term: 2020 - 2023

Daphne Hernandez

Annie Nguyen

Jessica Rath

  • Foster collaborative activities with governmental and scientific organizations
  • Provide a forum for other organizations to receive consultation/expertise from Academy members
  • Develop position papers, research summarize and guidelines for research competencies
  • Develop resources for the Academy


 Chair and Members


Conference Committee (2022) 

Conference Chair: Ledric Sherman

Program Co-Chairs:  Lisako McKyer & Samuel Towne

Term:  2021-2022
Katie Heinrich (President)
Lisako McKyer(Past Chair)

Samuel Towne (Past Program Chair)

Lisako McKyer (Past President)

Ruopeng An (Awards Chair)

Katie Dolphin (Marketing & Communications Council)
Sarah Griffin  (Professional Development & Mentoring Council)
Dennis Thombs (Resource Development Council), 
David Seal (Diversity and Equity Chair)
Megan S. Patterson (Research Review Chair)

Erika Thompson (Past Research Review Chair)

Joanne Sommers (Executive Director)

  • Recommend conference theme and speakers proposals to the AAHB Board of Directors
  • Guide and invite speakers
  • Work with Marketing and Communications Council to promote the meeting through the Academy website, listserv, and other outlets
  • Coordinate awards with Awards Committee, workshops, and professional development luncheons with assistance from the Professional Development & Mentoring Council 
Finance Committee

Chair:  Jessica Rath

Term: 2021-2022

Katie Heinrich                              Lisako McKyer                     

Annie Nguyen                                  Joanne Sommers

  • Make recommendations regarding fiscal policy to the Board of Directors, including but not limited to proposals and recommendations regarding investment and management of the Academy reserves
  • Perform accounting and fiscal procedures
  • Provide annual and conference budgets
  • Review Academy expenditures
Research Review Committee

Chair: Megan Patterson
Term: 2021-2022
Erika Thompson ('21)

Matthew Rossheim ('23)

  • Release call for abstracts
  • Recruit abstract reviewers
  • Review annual meeting abstracts
  • Recruit poster judges
  • Judge posters at the annual meeting
Joanne Sommers, M.Ed.,CHES®
Executive Director 
Phone: (419) 760-6020

© 2014 American Academy of Health Behavior.  All Rights Reserved

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software