2021 Virtual Scientific Meeting Highlights

"Transforming the narrative to meet emerging health behavior challenges"

2020/2021 Research Laureate Awardee

 Dr. Jennifer Unger received the  2020/2021 Research Laureate Award 

2020/2021 Mentorship Award

Daphne C. Hernandez, PhD, MSEd, FAAHB

Department of Research, Cizik School of Nursing, University of Texas Health Science Center – Houston

Congratulations to the 

2021 Poster Award Winners!

Professional Poster Winner

Matthew Lee Smith, PhD, MPH, CHES, FGSA, FAAHB

Assessing feelings of social isolation among community-dwelling older adults

Professional Posters of Distinction

Mary Steinhardt, Ed.D., FAAHB

Campus Integration Moderates the Association Between Psychological Resilience and Anxiety Among Underrepresented College Students 

Student Poster Winner

Tyler Prochnow

Online gaming network communication dynamics, depressive symptoms, and social support: longitudinal network analysis

Student Poster of Distinction

Chase Bruckner 

Whole Exome Sequencing for newborns: Pregnant Latina’s Viewpoints

2019 Fellows Honored

Paul Branscum, PhD, FAAHB

Miami University

Scott C. Carvajal, Ph.D., MPH, FAAHB

University of Arizona

Katie M. Heinrich, PhD, FAAHB

Kansas State University

Daphne C. Hernandez, PhD, MSEd, FAAHB

Department of Research, Cizik School of Nursing and University of Texas Health Science Center – Houston

Scott Leatherdale, PhD, FAAHB

University of Waterloo - School of Public Health and Health Systems

Hsien-Chang Lin, PhD, FAAHB

Indiana University

Mary A. Steinhardt, EdD, LPC, FAAHB

University of Texas at Austin

Samuel Dominic Castiglione Towne Jr., PhD, MPH, CPH, FAAHB

University of Central Florida

2020 Fellow Honored

Leigh Ann Simmons, Ph.D., M.F.T.

University of California, Davis

2020/2021 Judy K. Black Award

Erika L. Thompson, PhD, MPH

Department of Health Behavior and Health Systems in the School of Public Health at the University of North Texas Health Science Center


"Sex, birth control, and alcohol: An intersection of risk for alcohol-exposed pregnancies"


Erika L. Thompson, PhD, MPH, Dana Litt, PhD; Stacey Griner, PhD; Melissa Lewis, PhD

Congratulations to the 2020 Research Scholars and Mentoring Program Participants!

3 Minute Thesis Competition

  • 1st Place Award:  Shuhan Yuan,  Indiana University
  • People's Choice Award Tzung-Shiang OU, Indiana University

Thank you to the TED-X Presentations!

Outstanding Speakers, Video Presentations, Discussions and Prizes!

Dr. Lara McKenzie

2019-2020  President

Dr. Lisako McKyer

2020-2021 President

Recognizing Past Presidents

Welcome 2021-2011

AAHB President

Dr. Katie Heinrich

Thank-You to all of the Generous 2020-2021 Sponsors 

In-Kind Support from

Thank you to the Conference Planning Committee, Poster Reviewers & Poster judges!

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software